The township of Fingal was established in 1827 and the traditional art of coal shovelling has been preserved to this day, with the World Coal Shovelling Championships being held at Fingal in March each year. The Coal Shovelling Championships attract many local and interstate competitors each yearm as well as hundreds of spectators. The day is filled with Wood Chopping events, Roof Bolting, Sheep Dog Trials and a veterans’ bike race from Fingal to Mathinna and return.
The municipality of Fingal depends for its economy now on coal mining, forestry operations, wool and beef production, and tourism. The historic Old Tasmanian Hotel in the heart of the township extends a warm welcome to visitors to the region and will be pleased to assist with information on the local attractions, local history and accommodation within the area.
Fingal boasts a number of historical buildings within the township, particularly in Talbot Street, the town’s main street, and surrounding streets. Some of these include –
- Holder Brothers
- Old Tasmanian Hotel
- Fingal Post Office
- Fingal Hotel
- Convict Cells
- Old Stables
- St Josephs and St Peters Churches
- Fingal Primary School, and many more.