The Fingal Valley is a picturesque area stretching from Conara through to St Marys, linking the Midland Highway with Tasmania’s sunny East coast. The region is bounded by scenic Ben Lomond National Park to the north and rugged St Pauls Valley to the south.
Historic buildings and memorials of the past abound and visitors should make sure they allow plenty of time to explore this glorious area.
The Fingal Valley offers travellers and residents alike an environment unique for its scenery and colonial history.
A little history
The municipality of Fingal was founded in 1863. It offers travellers and residents alike an environment unique for its scenery and diversity of its physical composition. Fingal was named by the land surveyor – Roderick O’Connor around 1824.
Initial land grants in 1824 of ‘Malahide’ to William Talbot and ‘Tullochgorum’ to James Grant, were the forerunner to the first white settlement in the area and in 1827 the township of Fingal was established.
Convict probation stations were built in the 1830s at Avoca, Fingal, St Marys and Falmouth. This convenient source of labour was utilised to construct roads, bridges and to assist with the development of granted farmland.
Gold was first discovered at Mangana in 1852; subsequently a much larger gold mine was opened up at Mathinna. In 1886 coal mining commenced at Cornwall and the rail-head at St Marys was completed the same year.